Our Executive Leadership Team

Nickaila Sandate
Nickaila SandatePresident and CEO
Nickaila Sandate has served with EmberHope Youthville for over two decades. She originally joined EmberHope Youthville in 1995, serving in various roles in the residential program and human resources. After a brief hiatus working in HR for Wichita State University, she rejoined EmberHope Youthville as Chief Administrative Officer, a role she filled for nearly ten years. She then served the organization as Senior Vice President of Programs until January 2018, at which time she was appointed President and CEO. Nickaila holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Kansas State University and a Master of Business Administration and Management from Newman University.
Lori Gonzales
Lori GonzalesChief Program Officer
Lori is a Licensed Clinical Marriage and Family Therapist, who has been with the agency since 2002. She has held a variety of leadership roles within the agency in the following programs; Case Management, Foster Care, Clinical Services, and Business Development. Prior to working at EmberHope Youthville, Lori provided therapeutic services to youth residing in a residential facility, families referred to family preservation and clients receiving care in a behavioral health hospital. Her current position as the Chief Program Officer allows her to utilize her experience, skills and knowledge to expand and enhance programming to better serve those in need. Lori oversees foster care, residential and clinical programming in Kansas and Texas.
Lisa Capps
Lisa CappsChief Advancement Officer
Lisa Capps is an experienced fundraising professional who specializes in helping non-profit organizations meet their advancement goals. Skilled in grant writing, national sponsorships, and volunteer management, she has been with EmberHope Youthville since 2018. Prior to that, she served as Director of Development for several organizations, including Envision, Inc. and Make-A-Wish Foundation of Kansas. Lisa holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication from the University of Kansas.
Renée Walker
Renée WalkerVice President of Human Resources
Renée Walker has a unique blend of human resources and operational experience at the executive level and works diligently to assure the alignment of strategic goals and operational tactics. She is passionate about ensuring organizations have the best, qualified talent in order to carry out their critical missions.

Renée comes to EmberHope Youthville from Rainbows United, where she also served as VP of Human Resources. She also worked with the Sedgwick County Department of Health and Human Services after over a decade working with ChildServ, a child service organization in the Chicago area. Renée holds an MBA and a Master of Human Resources Management and Development from National-Louis University as well as a Bachelor of Science degree in Journalism and Communication from Lewis University.

Amy Engel-Hudson
Amy Engel-HudsonVice President of Kansas Foster Care Services
Amy Engel-Hudson originally joined EmberHope Youthville in 2003, serving various roles in the foster care program. After a brief time working in the school district, she rejoined EmberHope Youthville in 2005. She has held various positions.
Brian Voth
Brian VothVice President of Data Services
Brian Voth has been a part of the EmberHope Youthville family since 1996. He started out as an Information Technology (IT) subcontractor before accepting a position with our agency as Director of Database Administration. Brian has also served EmberHope Youthville as Senior Systems Analyst and Director of IT. He is passionate about leveraging the latest technology to further our organization’s mission of helping vulnerable children. A graduate of Bethel College, Brian holds a Bachelor of Fine and Studio Arts degree.
Rebecca Tozier
Rebecca TozierVice President of Finance
Rebecca Tozier joined EmberHope Youthville in 2021 with a diverse business background. She started her career with Summerfield Hotel Corporation where she rose to tax manager. That experience led her to begin a private business consulting career with an emphasis in new business development and corporate taxation for a broad scope of business entities. She then worked as General Manager at Water’s Edge serving the Bluestem campus and community.

Rebecca grew up in the Methodist Church and is passionate about her faith and the mission at EmberHope Youthville. She is skillful at designing creative systems and finance solutions and is happy to serve as V.P. of Finance. Rebecca holds a Bachelor of Business/Economics with an Accounting concentration.

Board Members

Michael Shockley
Michael Shockley was elected to the EmberHope Youthville Board in 2016, bringing with him 24 years of private and non-profit investment experience. Michael is the owner of LeaMark Investments, a private investment firm in Wichita. Prior to founding LeaMark Investments, he worked as an oil and gas accountant for twelve years.
Michael has a held a variety of positions with non-profits, including Chair of the Pension and Health Benefits Committee for the Great Plains United Methodist Annual Conference and member of the UMC’s Annual Conference Investment Committee, as well as the Board of Directors for the United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, where he chairs the Investment Committee. He has also served on the Board of Trustees at Friends University as Treasurer and chair of the Investment and Pension committees. Michael earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business with a minor in Accounting as well as a Master’s degree in Management, all from Friends University.
Judge Kevin Moriarty
Kevin Moriarty is a judge for the Tenth Judicial District in Kansas, appointed to the bench on March 23, 2004. He served as Chief Judge of the 10th Judicial District from 2014 to 2017. Judge Moriarty has been involved with several non-profits, including the Johnson County Bar Foundation, the Kansas Judicial Council Advisory Committee, and the Johnson County Mental Health Board. Currently, he is a member of the Johnson County Judicial Nominating Commission. He received his B.A. from Washburn University in 1975, his J.D. from Washburn University in 1978, and Master’s in Public Administration from the University of Kansas in 1984.
Rev. Don Hasty D.S.
Alan Edelman
After receiving a Bachelor of Arts degree in Child Development, Alan Edelman attended the Jewish Theological Seminary, where he received a Master’s degree in Jewish Education. Since 1977, he has served in a number of professional capacities including congregational educator, regional director for the Conservative Movement, and executive director of the Central Agency for Jewish Education. Beginning in 1994, Alan served as Associate Executive Director of the Jewish Federation of Greater Kansas City with the portfolios of Jewish Education, Leadership Development, and Israel & Overseas. Since his retirement in June of 2017, Alan is thrilled to be able to devote more time to volunteering.
Tim Hodge
Rev. Richard Shockey
Rev. Dave Felps
Jennifer Wold
Rev. Marsha Haney

Interested in learning more about our programs?

Contact Us Today
Contact Us Today